NAEA Research Commission Roster

Meet the Commissioners

The Research Commission is led by the Chair, Associate Chair, and Past Chair. Of the 11 additional Commissioners, 7 represent each of the NAEA membership Divisions (Elementary, Middle Level, Secondary, Higher Education, Supervision/Administration, Museum Education, Preservice), 3 are At-Large Commissioners, and 1 Ex-Officio Commissioner represents the National Art Education Foundation. Each Commissioner serves for an initial two-year term and may serve for a second two-year term.

Calls for open positions on the Research Commission are distributed to all NAEA members. Nominees should be passionate advocates for the research needs of NAEA members, and divisional nominees should represent the interests and needs of members within the division to be served (they should either be a member of the division of interest or have significant research experience in the division’s focus). The qualifications and duties of all Research Commissioners are as follows:

  • Have research experience as demonstrated through publications, service on research bodies, and participation in research initiatives;
  • Have demonstrated successful organization, administrative, and leadership capacities;
  • Have demonstrated successful leadership within NAEA or at a comparable organization or institution at the state and national levels; and
  • Act as a public representative of the research community within the art education field.
  • Juan Carlos Castro, PhD

    Chair (2018-2020); (2016-2018 Associate Chair); (DVWG Think Tank Member)

    Associate Professor, Undergraduate Programs Advisor, Department of Art Education, Faculty of Fine Arts

    Concordia University, Quebec, Canada

  • Sara Wilson McKay

    Associate Chair (2019-2020)

    Chair & Associate Professor Department of Art Education Virginia Commonwealth University

  • Mary Hafeli

    Past Chair (2018-2020); (2012-2014; 2014-2016 Associate Chair; 2016-2018 Chair)

    Director and Professor of Art and Art Education

    Teachers College, Columbia University, NY

  • David Rufo, PhD

    Commissioner - Elementary (2017-2019)

    Clinical Assistant Professor, 2U Program Coordinator, Graduate School of Education, Fordham University

    New York, NY

  • Jacqueline McElhany

    Commissioner - Middle Level (2017-2019)

    Middle Art Educator, Emory H. Markle Intermediate School

    Hanover, PA

  • Matt Young

    Commissioner - Secondary (2015-2017; 2017-2019)

    Art Chair, Pickerington Schools

    Pickerington Schools, OH

  • Amy Pfeiler-Wunder

    Commission - Higher Education (2016-2018; 2018-2020)

    Associate Professor, Art Education and Crafts Department

    Kutztown University, PA

  • Elizabeth Stuart Whitehead

    Commissioner - Supervision/Administration (2019-2021)

    Instructional Supervisor, Visual Art, Prince George’s County Public Schools

  • Dana Carlisle Kletchka

    Commissioner - Museum (2019-2021)

    Assistant Professor of Art Education, Ohio State University

  • Mark A. Graham

    Commissioner - Preservice (2019-2021)

    Professor, Art Department, Brigham Young University College of Fine Arts and Communications

  • Julia Marshall

    At-Large Commissioner (2016-2018; 2018-2020)


    San Francisco State University, CA

  • Kristi Oliver

    At-Large Commissioner (2018-2020)

    Professional Development Manager, Davis Publications

  • Daniel T Barney, PhD

    At-Large Commissioner (2018-2020)

    Associate Professor of Art Education, Department of Art, College of Fine Arts and Communications, Brigham Young University

  • Kathryn Hillyer

    EX-OFFICIO Representing the National Art Education Foundation (NAEF) (2018-2020)

    Art Educator Emerita, Instructional Assistant Professor, Illinois State University

Explore More