Retired Art Educators Affiliate (RAEA)

Established 1985

Purpose: To define and establish the role of the retired art educators as an interest group of NAEA; to conduct programs of professional activities for state and national events; to encourage continued personal involvement and development in art education; to inform State Associations and NAEA of concerns relevant to members of long-standing; and to encourage and support, as well as provide mentorship for, student members of the NAEA.


Outstanding Student Chapter Award
In recognition of outstanding activities carried out during the year by a Student Chapter, the Retired Art Educators Interest Group (RAEA) annually invites nominations for the Outstanding Student Chapter Award, sponsored by the RAEA. The award, to be given annually, honors an outstanding NAEA Student Chapter. The RAEA/NAEA presents a certificate and monetary award to the selected chapter. The award is funded with proceeds earned from the RAEA Silent Auction, which is held each year at the NAEA National Convention’s Artisans Gallery. The selected chapter is encouraged to use the funds to help support student members who attend the NAEA National Convention or for special projects.

ELIGIBILITY: Must be a registered NAEA student chapter with NAEA effective through the NAEA National Convention, March 14-16, 2019 (annual registration required).

The application deadline for the 2019 Award was November 1, 2019.

The Award Selection Committee includes: an appointed active RAEA member as chair/coordinator, serving without vote; the current Preservice Division Director as an ex-officio member, serving without vote; two (2) active RAEA members appointed by the RAEA President; and the student chapter advisor of the past year’s winning chapter, each with a vote: (3) voting members.

Please direct questions about the award to Linda Willis Fisher, RAEA Past President, at

Explore More

Kathryn Hillyer

RAEA Chair

Chair (Term: 2019-2021)

Kathryn Hillyer

RAEA Chair