Community

Caucus of Social Theory in Art Education (CSTAE)

Established 1982

Purpose: To promote the use of theoretical concepts from the social sciences; to study visual culture and the teaching of art; to inform art educators about theory and practice in the social sciences, thus acting as a liaison between social scientists and art educators; to encourage research into the social context of visual culture and teaching art; and to develop socially relevant programs for use in teaching art.

Website for Caucus of Social Theory in Art Education: http://www.cstae.org/
Website for JSATE: Journal of Social Theory in Art Education: http://jstae.org/
CSTAE e-Portfolio: https://naea.digication.com/cstae/Welcome/published
CSTAE Bylaws To join CSTAE, please login and click on “Join an NAEA Interest Group”.

CONTACT the CSTAE Executive Board:

Coordinator
Manisha Sharma

University of Arizona
msharma1@email.arizona.edu
visualinks@gmail.com

Coordinator-Elect
Cala Coates

Stephen F. Austin State University
coatsc@sfasu.edu

Past Coordinator
Aaron Knochel

Pennsylvania State University
aaronknochel@gmail.com

Treasurer
Darden Bradshaw

Editor
Melanie Buffington

Virginia Commonwealth University
mbuffington@vcu.edu

Associate Editor
John Derby

University of Kansas
johnderby@ku.edu

Past Editor
Sharif Bey

Syracuse University
shbey@syr.edu

Recorder
Cala Coates

Stephen F. Austin State University
coatsc@sfasu.edu

Online Curriculum Coordinator
Derek Fenner

Digital Curator
Ryan Patton

Virginia Commonwealth University
rpatton@vcu.edu

Associate Digital Curator Lillian Lewis
Pennsylvania State University
lillian_louise_lewis@yahoo.com

Past Digital Curator
Clayton Funk

Ohio State University
Funk86@osu.edu

NAEA News Columnists
Rebecca Black & Anna Ramsay

Delegate
Melanie Buffington

Virginia Commonwealth University
mbuffington@vcu.edu

Archivist
Karen Keifer-Boyd

Pennsylvania State University
kk-b@psu.edu

Digication Site
Jennifer Combe

University of Montana
jennifer.combe@mso.umt.edu

Manisha Sharma

CSTAE Chair, Assistant Professor, University of Arizona

Chair (Term: 2017-2019)

Manisha Sharma

CSTAE Chair, Assistant Professor, University of Arizona