Learn More About NAHS/NJAHS

Since 1978, the National Art Honor Society Programs support student members in their efforts to attain the highest standards in art scholarship, character, and service.

What are the National Art Honor Societies?

The National Art Honor Society (NAHS) or National Junior Art Honor Society (NJAHS) are more than “art clubs.” Students are required to meet eligibility criteria for membership as detailed in your chapter’s constitution and bylaws (download the Chapter Handbook for details).

  • NAHS is for high school students in grades 9-12.

  • NJAHS is for junior high and middle school students in grades 6-8 (junior high schools encompassing grades 6-9 should include 9th grade students as part of their NJAHS chapter).

NAHS/NJAHS National Council

The National Council meets quarterly to review and offer recommendations for program development. The Council is made up of the Middle-Level and Secondary Division Directors on the NAEA Board of Directors, two members-at-large from the general Secondary and Middle Level membership of NAEA, and the NAEA Executive Director (Ex-Officio).

A call for applications is announced each winter for the open at-large position. The call for the Middle Level at-large occurs in odd years and the call for the Secondary at-large occurs in even years. Members-at-large serve two-year terms and are appointed by the NAEA President.

Council Members:

Janis Nunnally
Middle Level Division Director, NAEA Board of Directors
Art Educator, Upperman Middle School, Baxter, TN
Term: 2023-2025

Linda Kieling
Secondary Division Director, NAEA Board of Directors
Art Educator, Clackamas High School, Clackamas, OR
Term: 2023-2025

Benjamin Hoffman
Secondary At Large Council Member
Art Educator, Kutztown Area High School, Kutztown, PA
Term: 2022-2024

Charon Dagley
Middle Level At Large Council Member
Art Educator, Smyrna Middle School, Smyrna, DE
Term: 2023-2025

Mario Rossero
NAEA Executive Director