NAEA Awards

The NAEA Awards Program was initiated to recognize outstanding art educators in all Divisions and Regions, and from each state and province.

The 2019 NAEA Awards Program Booklet will be available summer 2018.

View the list of 2018 Award Recipients.

Program Objectives

  • To recognize excellence in the many outstanding individuals, state/province associations, and programs of NAEA.
  • To focus professional attention on quality art education and exemplary art educators.
  • To increase public awareness of the importance of quality art education.
  • To set standards for quality art education and show how they can be achieved.
  • To provide tangible recognition of achievement, earn respect of colleagues, and enhance professional opportunities for NAEA members.

Who May Nominate?

Individual Members, State/Province Associations, Special Issues Groups


NAEA members who meet the established criteria. Membership is not required for the Distinguished Service (Outside the Profession) award, the COMC J. Eugene Grigsby award, or the Eisner Lifetime Achievement award.

Award Selection

Nominations and supporting documentation are submitted to the NAEA Awards Coordinator. State/province award committees select their own state/province award recipient and submit the name to the national office on the official State/Province Art Educator form (download form below or email Contact your state/province association for guidelines.


Award packets must be submitted by October 1 each year, unless otherwise stated. This timeline allows the selection committees sufficient time to review documentation, verify membership, make final decisions and submit the names of winning recipients to the national office. Note: The national office processes, verifies, engraves, labels, packs and ships over 120 awards. Nominations submitted after October 1 will not be considered.

NAEA Divisions

The National Art Education Association is divided into seven job-alike categories called Divisions: Elementary, Secondary, Middle Level, Higher Education, Preservice, Supervision and Administration, and Museum Education. Division award nominees must spend at least 51% of their work day in the job division in which they have been nominated and must coincide with their NAEA membership division. For example, educators who work primarily as administrators or supervisors are not eligible to receive Elementary Division awards, even if that is the level administrated or supervised. This member should be registered in the Supervision and Administration Division.

Award Presentations

Awards are presented in the spring at the annual NAEA convention. Winners are announced in the NAEA News.

Press Release

Upon notification, each award recipient is asked to provide pertinent information so press releases may be sent by the national office to employers, local media, art departments, school administrators, etc.

NAEA Regions

The National Art Education Association is divided into four geographical Regions: Eastern, Pacific, Southeastern, and Western. Regional award nominees must hold membership in the geographic region in which they have been nominated. For example, a member of the Southeastern Region may only be nominated for a Southeastern Region award.

  • Eastern Region: Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Labrador, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Brunswick, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Newfoundland, Nova Scotia, Ontario, Overseas Art Education Association, Pennsylvania, Prince Edward Island, Quebec, Rhode Island, Vermont, West Virginia.
  • Pacific Region: Alaska, Alberta, American Samoa, Arizona, British Columbia, California, Colorado, Guam, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, Oregon, Utah, Washington, Wyoming, and Yukon Territory.
  • Southeastern Region: Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, Puerto Rico, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, and the Virgin Islands.
  • Western Region: Arkansas, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Manitoba, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, New Mexico, North Dakota, Northwest Territory, Ohio, Oklahoma, Saskatchewan, South Dakota, Texas, and Wisconsin.