NAEA ED&I Commission Roster

Meet the Commissioners

  • James Haywood Rolling, Jr.

    Chair (2019-2021)

    Professor/Chair of Art Education; Director of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion, College of Visual and Performing Arts, Syracuse University

  • Browning Neddeau

    Associate Chair (2020-2021)

    Assistant Professor, Elementary Teacher Education and American Indian Studies, California State University, Chico

  • Anna Pilhoefer

    Commissioner - Elementary (2019-2021)

    Visual Arts Educator, Cleveland Elementary School, Santa Barbara, CA

  • Krissy Ponden

    Commissioner - Middle Level (2019-2022)

    Visual Arts Department Chair, The Unquowa School, Fairfield, CT

  • Elizabeth Barker

    Commissioner - Secondary (2019-2021)

    Art Educator Lebanon High School, Lebanon, MO

  • David Herman, Jr.

    Commissioner - Higher Education (2019-2022)

    Assistant Professor, Tyler School of Art and Architecture, Temple University

  • Emily Saleh

    Commissioner - Preservice (2020-2022)

    Visual Arts Educator, Village School, West Windsor-Plainsboro Regional School District

  • Tiffany Lin

    Commissioner - Supervision & Administration (2019-2021)

    Program Manager, Partner Schools & Network, Exploring the Arts

  • Bella Merriam-Gourley

    Commissioner - Museum Education (2019-2022)

    AT&T Director of Education, San Antonio Museum of Art

  • Wanda Knight

    At-Large Commissioner (2019-2022)

    Associate Professor of Art Education, African American Studies, and Women’s, Gender & Sexuality Studies; Professor-in-Charge of the Art Education Program, Pennsylvania State University

  • Pamela Harris Lawton

    At-Large Commissioner (2019-2021)

    Associate Professor of Art Education, Virginia Commonwealth University

  • Vanessa Smart

    At-Large Commissioner (2019-2021)

    Instructional Coach, The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Explore More