Join the largest creative community established exclusively for visual arts educators, university professors, researchers and scholars, teaching artists, administrators, and art museum educators.

Join NAEA Renew Membership

ListServ Sign Up

Collaborate. Learn. Engage in thoughtful dialogue.


NAEA Awards


The 2016 deadline has passed. It was October 1, 2015 for most awards.
For reference, you may view the 2016 Awards Program Booklet here.

The 2017 Awards Program deadline is October 1, 2016.
Details will be posted summer 2016.

Program Objectives
 To recognize excellence in the many outstanding individuals, state/province associations, and programs of NAEA.
 To focus professional attention on quality art education and exemplary art educators.
 To increase public awareness of the importance of quality art education.
 To set standards for quality art education and show how they can be achieved.
 To provide tangible recognition of achievement, earn respect of colleagues, and enhance professional opportunities for NAEA members.

Who May Nominate?
 Individual Members
 State/Province Associations
 Special Issues Groups

Eligibility. NAEA members who meet the established criteria. Membership is not required for the Distinguished Service (Outside the Profession) award, the COMC J. Eugene Grigsby award, or the Eisner Lifetime Achievement award.

Award Selection. Nominations and supporting documentation are submitted to the NAEA Awards Coordinator. State/province award committees select their own state/province award recipient and submit the name to the national office on the official State/Province Art Educator form (available on the website or from Contact your state/province association for guidelines.

Deadlines. Award packets must be submitted by October 1, unless otherwise stated. This timeline allows the selection committees sufficient time to review documentation, verify membership, make final decisions and submit the names of winning recipients to the national office. Note: The national office processes, verifies, engraves, labels, packs and ships over 120 awards. Nominations submitted after October 1 will not be considered.

NAEA Divisions. The National Art Education Association is divided into seven job-alike categories called Divisions: Elementary, Secondary, Middle Level, Higher Education, Preservice, Supervision and Administration, and Museum Education. Division award nominees must spend at least 51% of their work day in the job division in which they have been nominated and must coincide with their NAEA membership division. For example, educators who work primarily as administrators or supervisors are not eligible to receive Elementary Division awards, even if that is the level administrated or supervised. This member should be registered in the Supervision and Administration Division.

Award Presentations. Awards are presented in the spring at the annual NAEA convention. Winners are announced in the NAEA News.

Press Release.   Upon notification, each award recipient is asked to provide pertinent information so press releases may be sent by the national office to employers, local media, art departments, school administrators, etc.

NAEA Regions. The National Art Education Association is divided into four geographical Regions: Eastern, Pacific, Southeastern, and Western. Regional award nominees must hold membership in the geographic region in which they have been nominated. For example, a member of the Southeastern Region may only be nominated for a Southeastern Region award.
Eastern Region: Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Labrador, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Brunswick, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Newfoundland, Nova Scotia, Ontario, Overseas Art Education Association, Pennsylvania, Prince Edward Island, Quebec, Rhode Island, Vermont, West Virginia.
Western Region: Arkansas, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Manitoba, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, New Mexico, North Dakota, Northwest Territory, Ohio, Oklahoma, Saskatchewan, South Dakota, Texas, and Wisconsin.
Southeastern Region: Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, Puerto Rico, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, and the Virgin Islands.
Pacific Region: Alaska, Alberta, American Samoa, Arizona, British Columbia, California, Colorado, Guam, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, Oregon, Utah, Washington, Wyoming, and Yukon Territory.

Tool Kit
2015 Award Recipients
Nomination & Standardized Vita Forms
2016 State/Province Art Educator Selection Form
Awards Program Rubrics
Complete List of Award Recipients (1955-2015)

Donate today and make an investment in the future of visual arts education. Your contribution will help provide professional development for art educators, classroom supplies for innovative projects, curriculum development for art classrooms, and ground-breaking research in visual arts education.

Please make a commitment to the advancement of visual arts education by contributing to the National Art Education Foundation (NAEF). NAEF acknowledges all donations. Donors can expect an automatic acknowledgement for online donations. All donors, including those submitted donations online, along with membership dues, or through check by mail, will receive a separate letter of acknowledgement in the month following the donation.

Invest in Your Commitment to Arts Education
NAEF Donor Commemoration Form
NAEF Planned Giving Program Prospectus
NAEF Brochure

Authorize.Net Merchant - Click to Verify