Membership

Join the largest creative community established exclusively for visual arts educators, university professors, researchers and scholars, teaching artists, administrators, and art museum educators.

Join NAEA Renew Membership

ListServ Sign Up

Collaborate. Learn. Engage in thoughtful dialogue.

Go

CSTAE

Caucus on Social Theory and Art Education (CSTAE)–Established 1982

Purpose: To promote the use of theoretical concepts from the social sciences; to study visual culture and the teaching of art; to inform art educators about theory and practice in the social sciences, thus acting as a liaison between social scientists and art educators; to encourage research into the social context of visual culture and teaching art; and to develop socially relevant programs for use in teaching art.

Website for Caucus on Social Theory & Art Education: http://www.cstae.org/
Website for JSATE: Journal of Social Theory in Art Education:
http://jstae.org/

CONTACT the CSTAE Executive Board:

Coordinator of CSTAE
Alice Pennisi, Assistant Professor
Buffalo State College
alicecarla75@gmail.com

Coordinator-Elect
Aaron Knochel, Assistant Professor
State University of New York at New Paltz
knochela@newpaltz.edu

Past Coordinator
Dr. Patricia Bode, Visiting Associate Professor of Art Education
Ohio State University
Dept of Arts Administration, Education and Policy
bode.40@osu.edu

Treasurer
Lisa Hochtritt, Visiting Professor
School of the Art Institute of Chicago (SAIC)
lhochtritt@gmail.com

Recorder
Kathy Benevento, Art Teacher
Paterson, New Jersey Public Schools
KabeneventoART15@aol.com

Senior Editor, JSTAE
Robert W. Sweeny, Associate Professor
Indiana University of Pennsylvania
Sweeny@iup.edu

Editor, JSTAE
Kryssi Staikidis, Associate Professor
Northern Illinois University
kstaikidis@niu.edu

Associate Editor, JSTAE
Sharif Bey, Assistant Professor
Syracuse University
shbey@syr.edu

NAEA News Columnist
Ross  Schlemmer
RSCHLEMMER@edinboro.edu

Beth Thomas
thomasbanne@gmail.com

Web & Social Media Management Team
Clayton Funk, Assistant Professor
The Ohio State University
funk.86@osu.edu

Aaron Knochel, Assistant Professor
State University of New York at New Paltz
knochela@newpaltz.edu

Ryan Patton, Assistant Professor
Virginia Commonwealth University
rpatton@vcu.edu

CSTAE Archivist
Karen Keifer-Boyd, Professor
The Pennsylvania State University
kk-b@psu.edu

Art Educator Links

STATE ASSOCIATIONS

Stay connected to your NAEA state affiliate.

NATIONAL ART HONOR SOCIETIES

Inspire and recognize your students who have shown outstanding ability in art.