Membership

Join the largest creative community established exclusively for visual arts educators, university professors, researchers and scholars, teaching artists, administrators, and art museum educators.

Join NAEA Renew Membership

ListServ Sign Up

Collaborate. Learn. Engage in thoughtful dialogue.

Go

CSTAE

Caucus of Social Theory in Art Education (CSTAE)–Established 1982

Purpose: To promote the use of theoretical concepts from the social sciences; to study visual culture and the teaching of art; to inform art educators about theory and practice in the social sciences, thus acting as a liaison between social scientists and art educators; to encourage research into the social context of visual culture and teaching art; and to develop socially relevant programs for use in teaching art.

Website for Caucus of Social Theory in Art Education: http://www.cstae.org/
Website for JSATE: Journal of Social Theory in Art Education:
http://jstae.org/
CSTAE e-Portfolio: https://naea.digication.com/cstae/Welcome/published
CSTAE Bylaws

To join CSTAE, please login here and click on "Join NAEA Interest Groups"

CONTACT the CSTAE Executive Board:

Coordinator   
Aaron Knochel
Pennsylvania State University
aaronknochel@gmail.com

Coordinator-Elect    
Manisha Sharma
University of Arizona
msharma1@email.arizona.edu
visualinks@gmail.com
    
Past Coordinator    
Alice Pennisi
SUNY Buffalo State
pennisac@buffalostate.edu
alicecarla75@gmail.com

Treasurer    

Lisa Hochtritt
University of Arizona
lhochtritt@gmail.com   
    
Editor    
Melanie Buffington
Virginia Commonwealth University
mbuffington@vcu.edu
    
Associate Editor    
John Derby
University of Kansas
johnderby@ku.edu
    
Past Editor    
Sharif Bey
Syracuse University
shbey@syr.edu
    
Recorder    
Cala Coats
Stephen F. Austin State University
coatsc@sfasu.edu
    
Digital Curator    
Ryan Patton
Virginia Commonwealth University
rpatton@vcu.edu
    
Associate Digital Curator
Lillian Lewis
Pennsylvania State University
lillian_louise_lewis@yahoo.com

Past Digital Curator    
Clayton Funk
Ohio State University
Funk86@osu.edu

NAEA News Columnist    
Derek Fenner
Mills College
dfenner@mills.edu

NAEA News Columnist    
Jack Watson
Chapel Hill High School
jwatson00@gmail.com
    
Delegate    
Melanie Buffington
Virginia Commonwealth University
mbuffington@vcu.edu

Archivist
    
Karen Keifer-Boyd
Pennsylvania State University
kk-b@psu.edu
    
Digication Site    
Jennifer Combe
University of Montana
jennifer.combe@mso.umt.edu

Art Educator Links

STATE ASSOCIATIONS

Stay connected to your NAEA state affiliate.

NATIONAL ART HONOR SOCIETIES

Inspire and recognize your students who have shown outstanding ability in art.