Membership

Join the largest creative community established exclusively for visual arts educators, university professors, researchers and scholars, teaching artists, administrators, and art museum educators.

Join NAEA Renew Membership

ListServ Sign Up

Collaborate. Learn. Engage in thoughtful dialogue.

Go

Committees

At NAEA, there are a number of ways to become involved in our community. Committees and Issues Groups allow you to focus on specific issues in art education that interest you and connect you with a network of colleagues who feel the same way!

Committees are designated by the NAEA president. Current committees are the Professional Materials Committee (PMC) and Executive/Finance Committee. 

Design Standards for School Art Facilities Review Committee
This 33-page publication, last revised in 1994 with committee leadership provided by Mac Arthur Goodwin, has the purpose of serving as a guide for general planning reference when designing art classrooms.

Attention needs to be focused on the design and educational requirements for planning art facilities, including safety in the artroom, hazards in using art equipment and materials, as well as providing a barrier free environment for students. 

A review of this publication by the ad- Design Standards for School Art Facilities Review Committee is being undertaken during this academic year in anticipation of its design, production and release by NAEA publications during winter 2011. 

The charge of this committee is to review the current publication (1) to update the content so it is relevant in today’s environment and (2) to bring forward a revised publication and other recommendations to the Board for counsel, action, and publication during the 2011 academic year.

Members of the ad-hoc Design Standards for School Art Facilities Review Committee approved by the Board in November, 2010 include:

Members of the Committee are:
 

Kathy Unrath, Chair               
Columbia, MO
unrathk@missouri.edu

Linda Morgan                   
Haven, KS
lmorgan@havenschools.com

Don Becker                   
Wilmington, DE
dbecker1@mac.com

Kate Rawlinson                   
Miami Beach, FL 
kate@thewolf.fiu.edu

Cathey Cuttino                   
Savannah,  GA
catheyhandley@aol.com

Martin Rayala                   
Philadelphia, PA 
rayala@kutztown.edu

Barbara Gabel                   
Oklahoma City, OK 
bgabel@putnamcityschools.org

Elizabeth Stuart                   
Silver Spring, MD 
lisamoff239@comcast.net

Andrea Haas                   
Wethersfield, CT
haas1@earthlink.net

Naomi Swyers                   
Midlothian, VA 
naomi_swyers@ccpsnet.net

Thomas Knab                   
Amherst, NY 
tknab@williamsvillek12.org

Robin Vande Zande               
Stow, OH
rvandeza@kent.edu

Lorinne Lee                   
Belfair, WA 
Leeart123@hotmail.com

 

National Coalition for Core Arts Standards (NCCAS) Visual Arts Writing Team
The NCCAS plans to complete its work and release new, national voluntary arts education standards in fall, 2012. The standards will describe what students should know and be able to do as a result of a quality curricular arts education program.

The current National Standards for Arts Education have been adopted or adapted by forty-nine state departments of education, and have become the benchmark document by which K-12 arts learning is measured in dance, music, theatre, and visual arts. Curriculum designers, teacher training programs, funders, and federal and state policy makers have relied on the 1994 national arts standards to help guide their decision-making.

NCCAS is committed to developing a next generation of voluntary arts education standards that will build on the foundation created by the 1994 document, support the 21st-century needs of students and teachers, help ensure that all students are college and career ready, and affirm the place of arts education in a balanced core curriculum.

Members of the Committee are:
 

Dennis Inhulsen, Chair
Holly, MI
dennis.inhulsen@has-k12.org

Elizabeth (Betsy) Logan
Auburn, AL
blogan@auburnschools.org

Kristine Alexander
San Bernardino, CA
kalexand@csusb.edu

Vanessa Lopez
Baltimore, MD
vlopez@bcps.k12.md.us

September Buys
Grand Rapids, MI
septemberbuys@yahoo.com

Cheryl Maney
Concord, NC
cheryl.maney@cms.k12.nc.us

Susan J. Gabbard
Oklahoma City, OK
sjgabbard@okcps.org

Scott Russell
Leesburg, VA
president.vaea@gmail.com

Olivia Gude
Chicago, IL
gude@uic.edu

Marilyn Stewart
Kutztown, PA
mstewart@ptd.net

Debra Hannu
Duluth, MN
Debra.hannu@duluth.k12.mn.us

Joyce Huser
Topeka, KS 66612-1182
jhuser@ksde.org

Purposes, Principles and Standards for School Art Programs Revision Committee
This 33-page publication, last revised in 1999 with committee leadership provided by Bonnie Rushlow, is directed toward the promotion and recognition of educationally sound visual art programs in elementary, middle/junior, and high schools. It is designed as a self-assessment evaluation of seven art education program components: Organization, Curriculum, Personnel, Scheduling, Facilities, Materials/Equipment, and Budgets. Nomination form and self-assessment checklists for the Standards Award are included in the document for use by NAEA members.

A review of this publication by the ad-hoc Purposes, Principles, and Standards for School Art Programs Revision Committee is being undertaken during this academic year in anticipation of its design, production and release by NAEA publications during winter 2011. This initiative is a logical next step following the recent revision, update, and release of Standards for Art Teacher Preparation that identifies characteristics of high-quality programs for preparing arts educators along with its companion document, Professional Standards for Visual Arts Educators, that describes knowledge, skills, and attitudes art educators should possess to provide high-quality art instruction for all students.

The charge of this committee is to review the current publication (1) to ensure its' content is relevant in today’s environment and complements both recently revised standards documents, and (2) to bring forward a revised publication and other recommendations to the Board for counsel, action, and publication during the 2011 academic year. 

Members of the Committee are:
 

Michael Parks, Chair
Buffalo, NY
parksme@buffalostate.edu

Brenda Makle
Clinton, MD
bmakle@pgcps.org

Melanie Buffington
Richmond, VA
mbuffington@vcu.edu

Samantha Melvin
Burnet, TX
smelvin@houston.rr.com

September Buys
Grand Rapids, MI
septemberbuys@yahoo.com

Scott Russell
Leesburg, VA
w.scott.russell@loudoun.k12.va.us

Juan Castro
Champaign, IL
juan@juancarloscastro.com

Rebecca Stone-Danahy
Winston-Salem, NC
RebeccaStoneDanahy@fcds.org

Barbara Gabel
Oklahoma City, OK
bgabel@putnamcityschools.org

Toby Tannenbaum
Los Angeles, CA
ttannenbaum@getty.edu

Kit Grauer
Delta, British Columbia CANADA
kit.grauer@ubc.ca

Louis West
Abingdon, MD
lwest@comcast.net

 

Art Educator Links

COMMITTEES & ISSUES GROUPS

Interested in a specific issue? Serve on an NAEA Committee?

STATE ASSOCIATIONS

Stay connected to your NAEA state affiliate. 

NATIONAL ART HONOR SOCIETIES

Inspire and recognize your students who have shown outstanding ability in art.

JOIN AN NAEA LISTSERV

Stay abreast of the latest news, developments, and conversations related to the visual arts education field.

SOCIAL NETWORKING OPPORTUNITIES